Our Media Debut

The WT Volunteers in 6th grade

Yesterday, one of Barranquilla’s major newspapers came to the school to interview “the gringos.” Basically, they got some comments from us, then asked to watch us interact with some kids. This was actually hard to orchestrate since school hasn’t really started yet so most of our students weren’t there. We all ended up going to one of Aisha’s 6th grade classes, where we introduced ourselves and answered the kids’ many questions about who we are and where we come from. I have to admit that I LOVED being with the sixth graders – they reminded me so much of my homeroom back at Roxbury Prep. Not that my 3rd and 4th graders aren’t super, because they are, but the 6th graders display a level of maturity and insight that is lacking in the younger grades. A good example is the questions they asked. In the 3rd grade, it was “How do you say shark in English?” In the 4th grade, students were fixated on whether or not I had a boyfriend and how to say ‘bonita’ in English (so they could call me “beautiful”, haha.) Meanwhile, the 6th graders asked things like, “What made you decide to come to Colombia?” Okay, I’ll admit I’m a little jealous that Aisha got 6th grade… but I know I’m going to have fun with my 8- and 9-year-olds. They have a ton of energy and are seriously some of the most caring kids I’ve ever met.

Anyway, our story was featured on the front page (bottom half, but still!) of El Heraldo today. We were sort of misquoted, and they got some info wrong (for example, I’m the history major who has always wanted to live in Latin America, not Lindsay) but if you can read Spanish check it out here: La ‘Misión Gringa’.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Our Media Debut

  1. Titi

    Mari, I am sure you will have a fabulous year.
    Señorita bonita. Love Titi

  2. Nice post, sorry I’m late I’ll try to read the article 😉

Leave a Reply

